Museums

Burk’s Falls and District Historical Society

The Burk’s Falls and District Historical Society is dedicated to preserving the deep-rooted heritage of the Burk’s Falls area while offering an informative, educational and interactive learning environment for visitors of all ages. Visitors are invited to attend both the Watt Century Farmhouse Heritage Centre and the Wiseman’s Corner Schoolhouse Heritage Centre as each location provides a glimpse into the past unique to each site. Take a step back in time and see how a one room schoolhouse served the communities children for roughly 45 years, or explore historical artifacts and rich local stories which tell the history of pioneer life on the farm.

Both Heritage Sites are staffed by dedicated volunteers during operating hours, please join the wonderful volunteers who are committed to preserving our history, and visit both locations while visiting the Village. Visit our events page for details on events and celebrations hosted by the Historical site.


Wiseman’s Corner Schoolhouse Heritage Centre

"Visit The Wiseman's Corner Schoolhouse, and discover how the pioneers who first settled in the area went to school in 1892.  For over 45 years, this schoolhouse served the children of the area.  The first log schoolhouse was built one and a quarter miles northwest of the present schoolhouse on Lot 9, Concession 11.  This school served the section for roughly 10 years.
Around 1892, the ratepayers in the south end of the section became dissatisfied because most of the children going to school lived on Concession 8 and had to walk a mile and a quarter bush trail.  Roughly half the distance was swamp, and for weeks every year, the road was impassable due to high water.  An agitation was started to have the section divided and #4 moved a mile and a quarter south. 
The land of the current schoolhouse consists of a half acre and was purchased in 1892 for $1.63.  This purchase included 63 feet of lumber."

Visit the schoolhouse to learn more about the areas heritage and see artifacts that have been collected and displayed for all visitors. 

705-571-3308
112 Midlothian Road
May long weekend Thanksgiving – Thursday through to Sunday 11:00am – 4:00pm


Watt Century Farmhouse Heritage Centre

"Visit the Watt Century Farmhouse and take a step back in time.  Filled with local stories and historical artifacts, the Watt Century Farmhouse is rich with history.
John Russell Watt was born to Alexander and Euphemia (Gibson) Watt on March 14, 1856, in Lanark County.  In 1874, he came to Armour Township and settled on Lots 10 and 11, Concession 7, at Watt's Dam near the Magnetawan River.  This property was obtained through free grants during Queen Victoria's reign in 1878."
Visit the Watt Century Farmhouse, the second heritage centre of the Burk's Falls and District Historical Society to learn more about the deep and rich history of the area. 

705-571-3308
May – July Saturday and Sunday only 10:00am – 4:00pm
August – September Tuesday – Sunday 10:00am – 4:00pm

October to Thanksgiving Saturday and Sunday only 10:00am – 4:00pm

Visit the Burk’s Falls and District Historical Society website for more information.

STAY UP TO DATE

Sign up for our newsletter to receive monthly emails straight to your inbox.
Be the first to learn about upcoming events, news and notices, townhall meetings and more.